My First Water Effect With Piping Gel

Decorating By ddaigle Updated 23 Mar 2009 , 10:05pm by ddaigle

ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 2:22pm
post #1 of 13

I will be doing my first pool cake and want to use piping gel for the water. I have never done this technique before. Do I just tint it and pour a thin layer on top? Will it set up or be gooey? It's probably an easy technique, but I don't want to screw this up. Thanks. Deb

12 replies
Linliv46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Linliv46 Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 2:42pm
post #2 of 13

Yes, its very easy! Just tint the gel whatever shade of blue you want and it does stay sticky!

ddaigle Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 3:24pm
post #3 of 13

Does the gel need heated a bit to create a pouring consistancy?

Linliv46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Linliv46 Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 4:12pm
post #4 of 13

No I didn't heat it and I made like a little pond on top of a sheet after you mix the color and stir you can just put it on with your spatula!

juleebug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
juleebug Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 4:13pm
post #5 of 13

I always just spoon my piping gel "water" in the cavity I created and smooth it with the back of the spoon or a spatula.

ddaigle Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 4:18pm
post #6 of 13

Julee...In making a swimming pool, I'll have a 9" round area to fill. I don't want to risk tearing up my icing underneath....you don't have issues with this?

redpanda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redpanda Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 4:27pm
post #7 of 13

I used piping gel for the entire top of an oval cake (10 x 8 or so), and did it with a spoon like Juleebug. I let the icing underneath set a little bit before putting the piping gel, and there was no problem. You can see the cake I am talking about in my gallery--it's the seashell one.

ddaigle Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 4:40pm
post #8 of 13