Pinstripes And Dots...need Help!!!

Decorating By colabear71 Updated 23 Mar 2009 , 5:16pm by colabear71

colabear71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
colabear71 Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 12:50am
post #1 of 14

I have a couple cakes to do for next weekend and need some help.

I am doing on cake with vertical pinstripes (like on the cover of Mich Turner's Spectacular cakes) and the other is tiffany pearls..dots (inside Mich's book). The cakes will be buttercream (as requested) not fondant. In the book, they use royal icing on fondant.

My question is what would be best to do the stripes and dots with? Buttercream or royal icing? I really don't care for the taste of royal icing (i don't like the meringue powder taste). Is there anything else that you would recommend? Would Toba's glaze work on a cake?? I am pretty new to decorating and any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Kim

13 replies
CakeMommy3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMommy3 Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 5:09am
post #2 of 14

Would you be able to do fondant accents on the cake? That way most of it will be buttercream. I would think it would be tricky to get perfect pinstripes using the buttercream. I wish I could see a pic of the cakes, then maybe I could be more help.

colabear71 Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 5:56am
post #3 of 14

This is a pic of the cover of the book as well as a pic of another example of the pinstripe or candystripe design on a cake that is in the book.

Kim
LL
LL

colabear71 Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 6:03am
post #4 of 14

This is a pic of the cover of the book. This is one of the designs I am attempting. I can't find a good pic of the other, but it is just dots spaced evenly around the whole cake.

Kim
LL

colabear71 Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 6:07am
post #5 of 14

Oopps..sorry about the double post and double pics on the first post. I'm still learning how to post pics in forums.

Kim

jlynnw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlynnw Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 6:16am
post #6 of 14