Can This Fondant Cake Be Done In Buttercream?

Decorating By ashleyandlee Updated 23 May 2009 , 2:04pm by ashleyandlee

ashleyandlee Posted 18 Mar 2009 , 8:56pm
post #1 of 22

I have been decorating cakes for a few years now but am still at a rather novice level. I don't know too many fancy techniques, but have still come up with some decent looking cakes. icon_smile.gif

A friend of mine who knows I do cakes has asked me to make her sisters wedding cake. I have done one wedding cake in the past, and it was my own (so there wasn't a ton of pressure on me). This is my first wedding cake for a paying customer and I need a bit of help!

The cake below is what she has asked me to make.

It looks easy enough (if done in fondant, like in the pic) but she wants it done in buttercream. I know how to get the buttercream super smooth and fondant-looking on the sides (the white icing), but am not sure how to get the scalloped pink edge smooth with buttercream icing.

Any tips? She really wants the cake to look as much as possible like this in buttercream, but I am really not very confident that the pink scalloped edge will look as good as in the pic. I worry if I use the Viva paper towel method over the scalloping to smooth it, it is going to distort it a little bit.

I almost want to tell her it cannot be done in buttercream (at my decorating skill level), but have come to you guys for some suggestions before I do that.

Help??? Thank you so much!

21 replies
sugarcheryl Posted 18 Mar 2009 , 9:13pm
post #2 of 22

Yes but I would use fondant and gumpaste decorations. You also could even do the pink part in buttercream. There is technique where you place parchment paper around the cake and ice the top with pink colored buttercream and make gumpaste beads with the bead maker that you can get at global sugar art. Use a regular ribbon at the bottom and gumpaste bow on top. You can do it it really isn't that hard.