How Do I Get A Checkerboard/black&white Effect On A Cake

Decorating By millicente Updated 21 Mar 2009 , 3:50am by hallow3

millicente Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
millicente Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 3:36pm
post #1 of 6

How do I get a race flag checker board or black and white checkerboard on a square or round cake. I'm a true beginner and need the easiest cleancut route as possible

5 replies
kaykakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kaykakes Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 7:27pm
post #2 of 6

I just made one last week and took the easy way. I have a small square cookie cutter. I used it to make the black and white squares to add to the sides of my cake. It was oval to look like a race track . The checker board was all the way around. Worked out great for me didn't take long and was very easy with the cutter.

i_heart_pastry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
i_heart_pastry Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 11:42pm
post #3 of 6

You can cut the squares from fondant and adhere the squares to the sides. I have a Cars cake in my pics where I did this if you want to check it out.

Bec

hallow3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hallow3 Posted 18 Mar 2009 , 12:21am
post #4 of 6

in my spaghetti cake, I took a ruler and a pizza cutter and cut out the squares of fondant evenly. No time at all. I also cover the one in a solid red color and only cut out the white and applied in a checkerd pattern. Good luck

millicente Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
millicente Posted 20 Mar 2009 , 10:51pm
post #5 of 6

Thanks a million Ladies......
Ok now should I use buttercream the stick the fondant squares on that.?
Which kind of cake would be the easiest to do a round or square?

hallow3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hallow3 Posted 21 Mar 2009 , 3:50am
post #6 of 6