Where Can I Put This Cake??

Decorating By marisanovy Updated 18 Mar 2009 , 4:31pm by tiggy2

marisanovy Posted 16 Mar 2009 , 11:54pm
post #1 of 10

Sorry guys for my kinda bumb questions, but I need to know from you pros, because I'm still learning.

Someone is asking me to make two sheet cakes, plus a small 3 tiers round cake for the table, for a wedding.

The tiered cakes are not a problem for me.

My question is, what kind and size of board do you guys use to serve the sheet cakes? I am thinking in buying some board and cutting to size.

What do you do in this situation? Please help!

TIA

9 replies
jammjenks Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 12:06am
post #2 of 10

How big will the sheet cakes be?

pipe-dreams Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 12:10am
post #3 of 10

Are the sheet cakes going on the table too, or are they going to be kept in the back and served as extra?? If they are going on the table I would fancy them up with fanci foil or something. I mean, even if they aren't going on the table, I wouldn't just shlop them on there icon_biggrin.gif
Sorry I couldn't help much, but at least you'll get a bump so someone else can help! Good luck

kakeladi Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 12:45am
post #4 of 10

Definitely match the size of the boards to the size of the pan. Cut it 2" bigger in each direction.
If using 'the usual' cake pans........you can buy sheet boards and boxes that match the pan sizes - like what are called 1/4 sheet (12x8 cake); 1/2 sheet (12x16 cake). If you use other pans then you probably will have to have foam core or light wood cut to fit.

apetricek Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 12:52am
post #5 of 10