A New Type Of Bridal Show? Question

Business By SugaredUp Updated 17 Mar 2009 , 10:01pm by SugaredUp

SugaredUp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugaredUp Posted 16 Mar 2009 , 6:22pm
post #1 of 13

Hey, Everyone!

I signed up for this bridal show in early April. I've never done a bridal show before, but I have had a booth before, and so I am a little practiced. However, this is supposedly some new concept in bridal shows, so I was hoping to get some good CC advice!

I guess there will be 80 prescreened brides-to-be there, and you get 5 minutes with each. You get two booths on opposite ends of the room, and they will be used simultaneously. The tables are only 30" cafe style tables. This is the part that is throwing me off. It doesn't seem like a large enough area to really put out everything I would like to put out. I plan to have a cake dummy on each table, some business cards, samples (underneath, I guess, in tubs), a display-only decorated cookie on one, and a mini cake on the other.

Obviously, I will need room to sit and talk to the guests, so I don't want to overdo it. Should I forgo signage? The hotel will supposedly be providing white tablecloths, supposedly floor length (I want to hide what is stored beneath). Should I count on that, or come prepared and bring my own table cloth? It is allowed. Anything else I need or haven't thought of? I'm also going to have a sheet to pass out with FAQs and some type of "Why you should book your cake with us" type of deal.

TIA!!

12 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 16 Mar 2009 , 9:09pm
post #2 of 13

Geesh, it sounds like that Speed-Dating thing! icon_eek.gif

I'm trying to figure how this will work and how whoever put this together somehow didn't factor in the food people and what they would need to sell their service/product. I'm betting the florists are going nuts with only a 30" table, too.