Newbie's Frosting Tastes Like A**

Decorating By GinnyThePainter Updated 22 Mar 2009 , 12:48pm by JenniferMI

GinnyThePainter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GinnyThePainter Posted 14 Mar 2009 , 2:02pm
post #1 of 18

Brand new to cake decorating, and I'm only on Class #2 of the Wilton Course 1. For my first cake, made after the first class, I followed the recipe in the book for class buttercream frosting, and it tasted weird. I figured I did something wrong with the flavoring. Then I made the frosting again, followed the recipe exactly, and it still tasted just awful. Brought it to class and instructor agreed with me. My 6-year-old niece spit it out.

I'm new to decorating, but I'm a very experienced cook and baker. I don't think Wilton class frosting is supposed to taste great, but everyone else in the class had at least made edible frosting. Why did mine suck? Why did it taste like a**? (My best friend asked, "Well, Gin, did you use vanilla, butter or a** flavor?")

Then I took a good hard sniff of the brand new can of crisco I used. And there it was. A bad smell, and probably a worse taste. Returned the can to the store and got my money back.

Anyone else ever had frosting ruined by bad shortening? Is this a common thing?

17 replies
Bijoudelanuit Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bijoudelanuit Posted 14 Mar 2009 , 2:56pm
post #2 of 18

I taught the Wilton courses for 3 years and never experienced that! Shortening obviously can go bad, but I don't think it's a common thing at all. In class I followed the Wilton recipe and for flavoring used half almond, half vanilla and many people loved it. I think you'll find it will be much better with a new can of the Crisco! Best wishes for a better experience!

sarahpierce Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahpierce Posted 14 Mar 2009 , 2:58pm
post #3 of 18