What Would You Charge { Newbie }

Decorating By kim62808 Updated 16 Mar 2009 , 4:04pm by kim62808

kim62808 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kim62808 Posted 14 Mar 2009 , 5:52am
post #1 of 8

What would you charge for this cake , I am new to this and plus I just did my cakes for my boys and now it's kinda by word of mouth I have been asked to do many and I am just rambling off 5 , 10 , or 15 dollars I know they are worth more b/c the taste is excellent but the decorating is kinda new . This one is 4 8" square cakes .
LL
LL

7 replies
xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 14 Mar 2009 , 6:44am
post #2 of 8

I don't sell cakes I just make it for my family but I think the general consensus here would be not to even bother tuning on your stove for $5, $10 or $15. If you keep doing this people are always going to expect these prices. Those prices wouldn't even pay for the ingredients for a cake that I make.

If you want to make a business out of this then you need to sit down and figure out how much your ingredients costs, how much it will cost for electricity/gas etc, insurance and figure out a a rate per hour you think your time is worth. You also need to find out how much cakes are going for in your area. Cake prices vary quite a bit from place to place.

If this cake was made with 2 - 2 layer 8" square cakes then the amount of serving per the Wilton chart would yield 64 servings.

at the prices you mentioned for this cake you would be making the following:

$5 =$.08/serving

$10 = $0.16/serving

$15 = $0.23/serving

Now I don't know what sizes your cakes were that you were quoting for but even if it was for an 8" round then:

$5 = $0.21/serving
$10 = $0.42/serving
$15 = $0.63/serving

I would definitely sit down and go through all the numbers and have a general idea before giving anyone quotes. Figure out a $/serving amount and ask folks how many servings they need look at a serving guide and then give out your quote.