Am I The Only One Who Has Trouble With This?

Decorating By grahamc Updated 13 Mar 2009 , 5:04pm by Pearlx

grahamc Posted 13 Mar 2009 , 12:21am
post #1 of 9

I am a newbie. Only been decorating for a month and a half. I feel silly asking this question, but I have the hardest time rolling out my fondant so that the edges are even. Mine always have "shoots" heading off in different directions. I get part of the fondant large enough to cover the cake, but not the whole thing. What's the trick?

8 replies
nolee Posted 13 Mar 2009 , 12:25am
post #2 of 9

I'm not sure I totally understand your question, but if you're saying you're having trouble rolling out your fondant to the right size for the cake you're covering than what I do, is try and shape my fondant to the shape of the cake. If it's round, I start with a round ball, a square I would start by shaping my fondant into a large cube, etc..
I rotate rolling left to right and up and down to try and keep it even. And even when you think your fondant is large enough to cover the cake, make it just a little bigger. Hope that helps, hope thats what you were asking.

bisbqueenb Posted 13 Mar 2009 , 12:26am
post #3 of 9

Lift and Turn..turn...turn....roll it out...turn it 90 degrees...roll again...turn again...
works for a circle or a square or a rectangle... roll from the center out. If you want a circle...pat out the fondant in a thick circle first, for a square or rectangle try to form it that way before you start rolling out.
Hope this helps!

Jayde Posted 13 Mar 2009 , 12:36am
post #4 of 9

I measure. Ex: If your cake is 8 inches across and 2 inches high, then you need to roll out your fondant to at least 12 inches all the way around.

I also shape mine and then rotate, roll, then rotate a quater turn, then roll, then rotate a quarter turn. That way it doesnt stick, and I am getting a round shape.

kakeladi Posted 13 Mar 2009 , 1:04am
post #5 of 9