I Am So Terrible With The Business Side Of Cake Business...

Business By SpoonfulofSugar Updated 12 Mar 2009 , 3:14am by indydebi

SpoonfulofSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SpoonfulofSugar Posted 11 Mar 2009 , 4:13pm
post #1 of 16

even though I have a degree in bus go figure. With a full time job too it's hard for me to keep up with things...like emails and phone calls from customers

example: I lost an order...someone emailed me about a wedding cake...I responded ....she responded but it was not an email that needed a direct response back...it basically just said...I'm from out of town which was her response to when can we set up a consultation....well I didn't respond right away and now she has another vendor. I can't take the calls during the day b/c I'm working and can only respond to the emails during lunch and when I get home

Do you guys who bake out of your home and work full time (some with kids too...don't know how you do it) do you handle everything yourself or do you hire help like interns or something?

I wish I could afford someone to take the orders for me....I just can't keep up with it.

Any advice?

15 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 11 Mar 2009 , 4:33pm
post #2 of 16

My advice is give yourself a break. It's ok. That one was not a good match. There'll be another one.

Ruth0209 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ruth0209 Posted 11 Mar 2009 , 4:45pm
post #3 of 16

When I was working full time and baking part time, it was VERY part time. I had to be really careful about how I budgeted my time. I either turned down orders for the middle of the week, or I scheduled a vacation day to complete them. I told people up front that I needed at least a week advance notice for a cake order. After some long nights and sleepy days at work, I realized I just couldn't do it all.