Been Wanting To Ask This A Long Time...(Please Read!!!!!!)

Decorating By SharonK1973 Updated 10 Mar 2009 , 10:06pm by luvsfreebies72

SharonK1973 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SharonK1973 Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 8:23pm
post #1 of 15

So I have been baking and decorating for 10+ years. I truly have a passion for it. Never took a class, just picked up as I went along. I know I am good at it, as a matter of fact, better than good! I made cakes for everyone - friends, family, school, church, you name it. And everyone kept telling me that I needed to do this professionally. So I got to thinking I should. I go to school in evenings, and clean houses in the daytime. And quite frankly, I am sick of cleaning house for people who are so disgusting it seems to me like they had to go to school to learn how to be filthy because you can't be that nasty on your own!

So I thought, "you know, I do have what it takes to do this cake thing professionally". Got my kitchen licensed, bought all the necessary equipment and spead the word. All of a sudden, everything came to a screeching halt. Haven't had an order in over a month. I am tempted to think that its because I now charge for the cake. Or is it the economy taking its toll? Or both?

I don't know. What I do know is my prices are more than fair and I am not changing them to go any lower! If I ever change them, they will be higher.

My questions are : Did this happen to anyone? How did you deal with it? How do you build cleintele?

14 replies
SharonK1973 Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 8:29pm
post #2 of 15

I forgot to add, that the reason I am asking is because I m feeling really discouraged right now about it all and felt like CC is the only place where there would be people who would understand.

chefbarbie0513 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chefbarbie0513 Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 8:33pm
post #3 of 15

I cant answer your question but here is a bump. Hopefully someone else can help you! I hope things turn around for you.