How To Make Brown And Bright Pink Fondant

Decorating By pattycakes55d Updated 11 Mar 2009 , 11:03am by mommalud

pattycakes55d Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakes55d Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 7:27am
post #1 of 9

I am new to cake decorating and have some questions. I discovered this site and have found it to be a fabulous source. I sure would appreciate any help.

I am making a two tiered cake, one brown and the other that bright fuchsia pink seen in a lot of cake photos. I make my fondant from marshmallows and have added brown coloring.... which took me forever to knead and get that deep brown. There must be an easier, faster way.

For that bright pink, do I use Red or..... I'm at a loss. Thanks,

8 replies
dg10148 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dg10148 Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 7:53am
post #2 of 9

Welcome
If there is I haven't found it darker colors take a lot of more than the lighter ones as for the pink I tried it last weekend I started out with the red and did not like the color so I started over with pink I liked the color a lot better you can try it on a small piece of fondant and see if you like it before you do the whole batch you might have to add a little red to get the right color hope this helps.

lostincake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lostincake Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 8:33am
post #3 of 9

I agree with dg10148 for the pink...definitely stick with using pink and just add more colour as needed to deepen it. You can achieve a fuschia type pink by using more.

As for the brown, you can get brown easily by using chocolate MMF. There are many recipes in the recipes section and you can deepen or lighten it by using more or less chocolate/cocoa than the recipe calls for. The recipe I use is by nefgaby...

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-2408-Chocolate-Marshmallow-Fondant.html

...and the colour I get is like the one in this pic...

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1323390

HTH. icon_smile.gif