Tons Of Flowers!

Decorating By tx_cupcake Updated 9 Mar 2009 , 7:05pm by tx_cupcake

tx_cupcake Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 1:40pm
post #1 of 13

A potential client sent me a pic for an estimate. I've never made a cake with this many flowers! Plus, I really hate making gp flowers so I will most likely order them online (otherwise I'd have to start making them yesterday).

Anyway, I'm wondering what a good ballpark figure would be to charge for something this... floral. I am at a complete loss!

Any help/opinions are greatly appreciated!

(I know this isn't the best pic, but it was scanned from a magazine and emailed to me as a PDF. The real cake can be seen at

12 replies
tx_cupcake Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 3:37pm
post #2 of 13

Okay... I'm resorting to a pathetic self-bump here. icon_cry.gif

Mom23girls Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 3:48pm
post #3 of 13

I'm just a newbie - but those look like artificial flowers to me....

Ballymena Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 5:33pm
post #4 of 13

I agree, they look artificial. If they are gumpaste it would be thousands of dollars.

Win Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 5:40pm
post #5 of 13

I think it is a Sylvia Weinstock cake... I knw I just saw it recently... but I think I remember they were gumpaste. Or, maybe it was MS site I saw it on... I'll check to see. Anyway, it would be a very, very costly cake!

tx_cupcake Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 5:57pm
post #6 of 13

The cake designer is Selena Wong, and I'm fairly certain that they are made of gumpaste. This cake was featured in The Knot magazine - at least that's what she sent me.

I was just wondering if anyone here had ever done something like this. She only needs to feed 150 people, so obviously it wouldn't be this tall but I am pretty stumped as to what to tell her as far as cost goes.

mommyle Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 6:06pm
post #7 of 13

$3.50 a serving, plus extra for dummies if they want it that tall, plus flowers.

aligotmatt Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 6:10pm
post #8 of 13