In The Market To Get A Ka

Decorating By AfordRN Updated 8 Mar 2009 , 9:32pm by jocakes

AfordRN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AfordRN Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 3:50pm
post #1 of 17

Any suggestions on which model KA to get? I'm just a hobby at home baker for friends, but I'm finding out quickly my old Sunbeam I got for a wedding gift >10yrs ago just isn't cutting it. I'd like to know which model you suggest and where you get that after market beater/scraper attachment. If heard that works great!

Thanks

16 replies
CakeMommy3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMommy3 Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 5:29pm
post #2 of 17

I am also a hobbyist, and I have a Professional HD bowl lift design that I got from Costco about 2 years ago. It's a five quart, and if I had been into cakes at that time, I would have gotten the 6 quart, but oh well. But I absolutely love it! I don't know about that specific attachment, but it sounds awesome! Maybe Bed Bath and Beyond? lol now I want one.

TractorDiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TractorDiva Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 6:07pm
post #3 of 17

(chuckling over here...) so many people here have started off posts with, "it's just a hobby..." icon_biggrin.gif

My first KA was the HD model, like CakeMommy3's. Between mega batches of buttercream and my new found passion for homemade bread, I have run it into the ground. Not that I am going to part with her (we are looking into getter the motor overhauled), we did finally jump in and get my new baby, the KA Prof 600. I picked that one because of the power of the motor, the volume she'd hold (6 qt bowl) and the ability (motor capacity) to do the heavier work that, over time, just slammed my HD.