*baking For Samples/tasting * Can I Do Cupcakes??

Decorating By mrsbriggs06 Updated 7 Mar 2009 , 5:50pm by CakeMommy3

mrsbriggs06 Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 2:23pm
post #1 of 2

Quick question, I'm just getting started doing cakes as gifts for family & friends.. I found the gourmet cake flavors thread & am anxious to try the changes you can make to the wasc cake.... I went on a shopping spree yesterday & got everything I should need to do 3 different cake flavors & about 6 filling flavors..

It will take me all day if i bake 3+ 6 inch cakes, since I only have 1 6" pan.. and still won't be much better if i use my 3 *different depth* 8" pans..

so I was thinking.. I have 3 cupcake pans...

could I do a few cupcake batches and then try the fillings on those???

these are mainly for personal consumption & passing to family/a friend or two...

or do i need to bake the actual cake sizes so that i can see how the filling hold up to stacking, etc???

they are all buttercream or cheesecake type fillings.. so i think they should hold up ok, plus they are 'tried' by others & not something I've invented on a whim *i 'created' a white choc raspberry ganache which did not set up like my chocolate ganaches do & I ended up with 3 layers of cake sliding off of each other--tasted great, though!*

thanks in advance!

1 reply
CakeMommy3 Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 5:50pm
post #2 of 2