How Long You? Meringue =]

Baking By miasuzzette Updated 7 Mar 2009 , 10:49am by JanH

miasuzzette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miasuzzette Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 7:23pm
post #1 of 4

icon_biggrin.gif How long you beat Egg Whites,To get a Soft Peak & Which, Paddle you use, Thanks for your Responds, Have a Good Day. thumbs_up.gif Still learning.

Margie From Ct thumbs_up.gif

3 replies
lostincake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lostincake Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 7:35pm
post #2 of 4

I'm no expert but this is what I was told and hopefully it'll at least give you some answers...

You should always use the whisk attachment (the one with the thin wire-like loops) in order to incorporate as much air as possible. Beat on high for at least 2 mins and add more time depending on how stiff you want the egg whites.

You have to eyeball it though and see when it "looks right". You can tell if it's the right consistency by taking a regular whisk, dipping it in and holding it upright - if the egg whites stand up but still flop around then it's "soft"; if the egg whites stand up and don't move much then it's "stiff". HTH.

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 9:07pm
post #3 of 4