Marshmellow Fondant

Decorating By cakecitycakes Updated 13 Mar 2009 , 4:53pm by lchris

cakecitycakes Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 4:50pm
post #1 of 13

I'm still a cake newbie but am trying to make the marshmellow fondant. Following the directions exactly my mixture looks all crumbly and isn't all stuck together, this confuses me. I've placed it all into a mound and covered it with plastic wrap into a ziplock and will check it out tomorrow after it has rested.

What am I doing wrong (I used a marshmellow fondant recipe from the site - I think it is Rhonda's recipe)? or is this the way the mixture is until it rests?

Thank you so much for your help!!!

12 replies
cakes22 Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 5:07pm
post #2 of 13

I couldn't find the recipe you used, but did you use all the powdered sugar? I find that when I do MMF, I don't use all the sugar stated. I am usually down by a cup or more.

mlharvell Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 5:09pm
post #3 of 13

Let it rest overnight, then microwave it in 10 second increments, knead it, and it should work beautifully.

stsapph Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 5:13pm
post #4 of 13

If it is still crumbly after microwaving it, try kneading in some Crisco. That should help to bring back some moisture. HTH

cakecitycakes Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 5:38pm
post #5 of 13

Thanks for all your tips so far and I'll give it a try tomorrow!!!

As for the recipe, I actually didn't incorporate all the 7 cups of sifted icing sugar the recipe called for, I probably mixed in about 6 cups.

Creative_chika Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 12:35am
post #6 of 13

I'm also new to cakes, but I've made mmf a couple of times. I usually use a 16 oz. marshmallow, two tbs of water, and suposedly it supose to be 2 pounds of sifted confectioners sugar, but I use less. And finally I knead it until its smooth. Good luck!

bettinashoe Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 12:42am
post #7 of 13