Book Cakes

Decorating By doublecz1103 Updated 8 Mar 2009 , 8:35am by vcm_9

doublecz1103 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doublecz1103 Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 11:36am
post #1 of 6

does anyone have instructions on how to make a "book" cake.. or any pointers. I've never done one before and i just want to make sure i'm doing everything right. I also plan on using an edible image on it.. on fondant.. would i have to do anything special with that to make it stay??

thanks

5 replies
chanielisalevy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chanielisalevy Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 12:07pm
post #2 of 6

I make book cakes often - I can knock one off (without the decorations or working on the cover) in about 20 minutes.

1 make a rectangular shaped cake (any size) and crumbcoat it.
2. make a long narrow band of white fondant and impress with a lined rolling pin or make long lines with a ruler or knife to show pages and place around 3 sides of the cake.
3. Roll out fondant 1/4 inch thick for the cover and place on that 4th uncovered side and across the top to be the cover and the spine of the book.
4. Use a ruler on the top cov er of the book about 1/2" in to look like crease of the book cover.

5. ROll a long very thin flat piece of fondant, about 1/4' wide to fit around the bottom border of the cake abutting the whit pages to look like the bottom cover of the book.

6. Put a bit of piping gel then add your image, lettering, etc. on the cover and spine, VOILA!
LL
LL

majka_ze Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
majka_ze Posted 6 Mar 2009 , 12:45pm
post #3 of 6

Another possibility is to make rectangular cake, torte it (get 2 or 3 layers). Set all except 1 layer back with filling in between and on top of this.
Cut the last layer in half for the 2 pages of the book. Mark the middle of your layered cake.