Whaaaaaaaa! I'm Delusional! (Long Vent)

Decorating By cakes22 Updated 6 Mar 2009 , 1:29pm by koolaidstains

cakes22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakes22 Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 6:36pm
post #1 of 6

Okay, so I am the first to admit that I am not a pro. I have taken a few courses, nothing to extensive. I have made some really nice cakes, I have common sense (at least I think I do), I am limited in my disasters, and I really, really , really love cake decorating. icon_cry.gif I am sitting here cause I had to walk away from a cake that is due tonight at 7:30pm (it's 1:20pm now). The cake itself is a simple 1/2 sheet cake (chocolate & vanilla) not layered, covered in white buttercream (that is grainy, see other post) with blue trim. It is supposed to have a corporate logo on it & I can't for the life of me get the F*&*ing printing right. I have scraped off the writing soooooooooo many times now, I think I have botched the cake. I have done pin-prick (didn't work very well), FBCT (horrible when working with printing, either that or I am doing something wrong, which wouldn't surprise me), tried a fondant plaque (fondant cracked) icon_cry.gificon_cry.gif
So what are my options??? I don't have time to rebake. Could I refrost just the top part (to cover up the mess that I made), should I just call and tell her that I can't do it (it's for Friday) and loose any referrals that my come out of it? Sob icon_cry.gif Do I just keep trying? I'm not a quitter but right now, quitting is looking pretty good (so does a glass of wine)
I am getting a migraine......I'm running out of time....I feel horrible......and trust me I am not looking for sympathy. I just needed to vent, cause 1) hubby doesn't get it 2) none of my friends are into cake deco. & I have no one to chat to 3) I am feeling mighty low icon_cry.gif

I'm a sad, sorry little cake baker.........

icon_sad.gif

5 replies
peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 7:16pm
post #2 of 6