I Need Help Salvaging My Mmf

Decorating By Christen99 Updated 5 Mar 2009 , 7:46pm by majka_ze

Christen99 Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 4:40am
post #1 of 5

This is my first time starting a post, and unfortunately it's for a really lame issue. I have never worked with fondant before, and so I made a batch of Rhonda's MMF to practice with. I realized several hours after making it, that I most likely forgot to put in that last cup of powdered sugar. I'm sure it should have seemed obvious, but since I've never made it before I thought it had to set for several hours to firm up a bit (and I don't exactly know what the correct density should look like having never worked with it before). It seemed like a somewhat firm taffy when I wrapped it, and it's been sitting for several hours (I made it at 2:30 and it's now 8:30). Can I remove it from the plastic and just try and knead the rest of the sugar in? If so, do I have to let it rest again before using it or can I use it right then?

How do I color the fondant? I just made a batch of white, but I want to also make some flesh, and red. I'm also planning on making black, but I need to make a separate batch of chocolate for that.

Thank you!

4 replies
nicolesprinkle Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 6:26am
post #2 of 5

You actually don't need all the sugar. The consistency should be like playdough. As far as coloring here is a video on Youtube that really helped me. GL

Christen99 Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 3:37pm
post #3 of 5

Thank you! I'm going to take it out and play with it either today or Saturday, so I'll see how it goes. I'm planning on covering a 1/2 ball with it, which I figured was the easiest shape to cover since there aren't any creases.

Tivadoll Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 7:34pm
post #4 of 5