Help With Cake Carving

Decorating By Heavenlydelights107 Updated 10 Mar 2009 , 1:38pm by Yuni

Heavenlydelights107 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Heavenlydelights107 Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 5:08pm
post #1 of 7

So I am new to carving cakes. I have only cut square cakes into shapes, but nothing else.

I want to make a topsy turvy cake for my brother's 24th birthday on Saturday. I have a couple questions.

How do you get your cake to be carvable? Meaning the density of the cake? I always find my cakes to be very moist and soft, which most people like, but I am not sure if that is good when you are carving.

Any help would be great!
Thanks!

6 replies
countygirl28 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wrightway777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wrightway777 Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 6:47am
post #3 of 7

are you using box mix cakes? If so you need to research this site for "cake mix extender recipes" until you have time to devise your "from scratch recipes" or you may want to stay with the extender recipes...many people do on this site. The WASC is a perfect place to start. Always and I mean always freeze your cakes (or at least chill them very well).
Countrygirl28 is right. Thats a great way to do Topsy Turvey there are a few other ways that you can do this technique.

Since you said your new heres a few more quick tips... a turntable is a must. Invest in a Wilton or Ateco one (if you plan on doing more cakes in the future). For your Fondant - stay away from the Wilton brand (too chemical tasting). I love Satin Ice brand (for fondant) and Choco-pan (for chocolate fondant). Learn (when you have time) to make fondant yourself and MMF.
Ok this is barely the tip of the iceberg...I could go on forever....

ashk36 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ashk36 Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 5:09pm
post #4 of 7