Can I Use Sps For This Type Of Cake

Decorating By smc_paralegal Updated 4 Mar 2009 , 11:36pm by kakeladi

smc_paralegal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smc_paralegal Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 3:32pm
post #1 of 6

Okay, first let me say I am still a newbie and I am still learning.

I have a wedding cake that I have been asked to due for July 10th. The bride wants a 16" square, 12" round, 10" square and 8" round. I have used the SPS with an all round cake construction but didn't know if I could use it for this type of cake construction.

Any help would be appreciated.

5 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 3:47pm
post #2 of 6

Sure you can.

But the 10" sq will not fit on the 12" round.
And the 12" round will look tiny sitting on the 16" sq.

It'll all be lopsided and top heavy.

smc_paralegal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smc_paralegal Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 4:58pm
post #3 of 6

what would you just for the cake sizes? I need it to feed 300 people.

projectqueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
projectqueen Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 5:10pm
post #4 of 6

Do you have all the different size pans? What I usually do and find it to be a great help is to stack the pans upside down on top of each other as if they were cake. Then stand back and see the proportion and how it looks. You have to be careful with squares on top of rounds, as k8memphis said, the 10" square will not work well on the 12" round. Stack the pans and you'll see what she means.

For serving sizes, you can go by the Wilton serving charts or you can go by the one on Earlenescakes website if you want slightly larger slices.

Good luck, that's a big cake!

soygurl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soygurl Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 7:10pm
post #5 of 6