Will This Work? *drum Kit Cake* Also Flavor Question

Decorating By mrsbriggs06 Updated 5 Mar 2009 , 2:48am by mrsbriggs06

mrsbriggs06 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsbriggs06 Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 3:15pm
post #1 of 3

Hi all! I'm new to cake central & LOVE to bake!

I've done cakes mainly for *uh* personal consumption.. not 'family.. just me ;o)' but this year I'm averaging at least 1-2 cakes per month just doing parties for family & an upcoming baby shower for a friend! None of the cakes are charged of course, and I'm glad just to have the practice & freedom to design! Once I find time, I'd love to take a class.. right now I'm just wingin' it!

In April, I'm doing a cake for a friend who is having a little boy. Her hubby is a drummer & part of the baby's name is taken from a famous drummer. She gave me free reign over the design, flavors, etc.

I'm going to do a drum kit inspired by the celeb they like...
I've scaled his drum kit down to half to come up with:
12x12 bass drum (cake dummies)
8x9= 8x5 dummy w/ 8" cake on top
7x8= 7x4 dummy w/ 8" cake on top cut down to 7"
5x6= 5x3 dummy w/6" cake on top cut down to 5"
4x5= dummy

They will be placed on board with a hardware constructed drum kit which the hubby & I are currently designing.
I'm planning to use MMF to cover the cake/dummy combos & 2 dummy drums.
I need to make a number of cymbals, but might purchase hand cymbals online instead *I'm planning to possibly reuse this set up for my daughter's bday cake, but do it with an imagination movers (kids' show/band) theme*

I'm planning to put a cake board/plate/?? between the real cake & dummies so that when it's time to cut, they will be lifted off the stands, removed from the dummies (via cake leveling wire) & cut.

Any thoughts so far???