Help Achieving Crisp Lettering.......pls.

Decorating By cakes22 Updated 3 Mar 2009 , 7:43pm by dandelion56602

cakes22 Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:01pm
post #1 of 9

I was asked to do a cake for a company & they want their logo on it. Its just a 1/2slab cake, nothing fancy. Their logo is done in a very crisp font and I don't have a food safe printer, so doing an edible image is out. Whats the best way to achieve crisp lettering? Should I try a FBCT? or just try to do my best freehand??
Aghh.....can you tell I'm just starting out.
How much easier would life be with a food safe printer & an airbrush!!! icon_cry.gif

8 replies
Lee15 Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:21pm
post #2 of 9

You can try a color flow piece. Or a FBC transfer. Or if you are really confident in your writing, practice on wax paper first before attempting it on the cake.

Good luck.

msulli10 Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:34pm
post #3 of 9

You could try cutting the letters out of fondant or gumpaste. I have also tried tracing the letters on wax paper and then piping with royal icing. It takes a steady hand and lots of practice. Good luck.

majka_ze Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:45pm
post #4 of 9

Another idea, similar to color flow is to make a fondant plaque which you then place on the cake.

You can prepare it beforehand, print the logo on normal paper, mark the writing with a toothpick and overpipe. If you mess a little, you can scratch this part and try again. If it is a complete failure, you can try till you get it. It is only a piece of fondant, not a whole cake. By making this beforehand, you have all the time.

And remember - with buttercream you can almost always scrap it and re-ice and most mistakes can be covered thumbs_up.gif

Good luck!

suz3 Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:47pm
post #5 of 9

I recently bought an edible image from WalMart. You might check with a local store bakery to see if that is a possibility.

sportsmom005 Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:56pm
post #6 of 9