Vodka Vs. Lemon Juice

Decorating By meihana Updated 3 Mar 2009 , 3:13am by icer101

meihana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
meihana Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 2:44am
post #1 of 8

I need to spray lustre dust on the wedding cake I'm doing this week. My question is, (I've never used the airbrush for this before) should I mix the lustre with vodka (this is what I normally do when using it to paint by hand) or lemon juice? I've heard some of the masters (i.e. Colette Peters) use lemon juice.

Anyone know the difference? Had experience? Tips? Warnings? icon_smile.gif

Thanks!

7 replies
Ruth0209 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ruth0209 Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 2:52am
post #2 of 8

I don't think people use lemon JUICE. They use lemon extract because it has alcohol in it and evaporates faster than water. That helps the fondant or gumpaste get less soggy from the liquid. Same reason people use vodka - for the fast evaporation of the liquid used to apply the luster dust.

vmertsock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vmertsock Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 2:56am
post #3 of 8

I've never sprayed luster dust onto a cake before, I usually use a paint brush for that. I always use the airbrush colors when I airbrush though. As far as lemon extract or vodka, I use them both. I've used vodka for dusts but I prefer lemon extract for dust and vodka for if I need to thin down gels a bit.

classiccake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
classiccake Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 2:58am
post #4 of 8

I haven't used the airbrush for the luster, but with painting, I have noticed no difference between vodka and lemon EXTRACT.

I buy the cheap vodka and it is alot less $$ than the extract, plus leaves no taste.

nancyg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nancyg Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 3:00am
post #5 of 8