Rolling Out Satin Ice

Decorating By stacylambert Updated 3 Mar 2009 , 1:27pm by Lee15

stacylambert Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stacylambert Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 12:58am
post #1 of 19

I know it says shortening, sugar, or constarch, but I was wondering what you've found to be the best way to roll out Satin Ice? This will be my first time using it and I paid a pretty hefty price for it at the cake shop (I needed it quickly...). I certainly don't want to waste any icon_eek.gif

18 replies
arsing1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
arsing1 Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:07am
post #2 of 19

Sorry, I don't have any info for you. I just ordered some Satin Ice from GSA so I'm interested in this answer too.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:08am
post #3 of 19

I'm a fondant newbie and I use cornstarch. I like it better than p.sugar. Havent' tried the crisco yet, but plan to give it a try.

KrissieCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KrissieCakes Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:13am
post #4 of 19

Crisco is the way to go! No stray powdered sugar to deal with, it doesn't dry out quickly like it does with ps. I've found that my hands don't get as stained with food coloring when using crisco!

stephaniescakenj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephaniescakenj Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:22am
post #5 of 19

crisco works well if you're in a dry climate. If it's humid, cornstarch is the way to go. I don't like powdered sugar at all.

milissasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
milissasmom Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 1:23am
post #6 of 19