Help Covering Cake With Slice Cut Out

Decorating By londonpeach Updated 1 Mar 2009 , 4:07pm by Rose_N_Crantz

londonpeach Posted 28 Feb 2009 , 3:05pm
post #1 of 8

I would like to make a cake with a slice cut out and placed on top of the cake...i've seen so many lovely ones on this site.

I want to cover it in fondant and would like some advice on which is the best way to cover it...should I cover the top and sides before the middle of the cake (where the slice is missing) or the other way round.

Any ideas please icon_biggrin.gif

7 replies
londonpeach Posted 28 Feb 2009 , 7:18pm
post #2 of 8

Someone must be able to give me some tips pleeeeeese icon_biggrin.gif

lucysmam Posted 28 Feb 2009 , 9:53pm
post #3 of 8

I'm not very experienced so don't actually know the best way to do this, but, having seen some cakes of the type you're talking about, the cut out bit & then the top & sides would be my first thought, then the join between the 2 pieces wouldn't be so obvious as it would be in the cut out

Or maybe, do it all in one & when it comes tothe cut out, cut along the icing into the triangle where the cut out is, then you should be able to do it without any more joins I think

Hope that makes sense icon_smile.gif

londonpeach Posted 1 Mar 2009 , 8:06am
post #4 of 8

I'll just give it a go, it's only a practise cake so it don't matter what it looks like icon_wink.gif

niccicola Posted 1 Mar 2009 , 2:04pm
post #5 of 8

I had a 1x8 round cake leftover from a cake that i did this weekend. I decided to cut it in half then half again to make 4 quarters. i stacked 2 quarters on top of each other to make 2 - 2" tall cake slices. i wasn't sure how to approach covering the cake, so I first covered the whole thing, then wrapped the sides, but looking back, I think it would have been better for me to do the "inside" of the cake, then the outside. But they turned out fairly well.
LL

jenbenjr Posted 1 Mar 2009 , 2:25pm
post #6 of 8