Fondant Taste ?

Decorating By Pickulz Updated 27 Feb 2009 , 10:34pm by xstitcher

Pickulz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pickulz Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 4:10pm
post #1 of 11

Im new to cake baking and decorating....and had a basic question!

Dont you find the taste of fondant not very appealing? I find it bland?
I guess because I am use to buttercream. Ive done lots of cake decorating with bc..but am wanting to use fondant now because it looks better!!! And you can do so much more with it!!!

10 replies
MacsMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MacsMom Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 4:19pm
post #2 of 11

I don't like pre-made fondatn, either. I've tried Satin Ice, Sweet Inspirations, and Fondarific (in vanilla and buttercream flavors).

I make MMF and use LoRann butter flavored candy oils (they are super strength). It tastes better than Fondarific's buttercream flavor, IMO. I also add 1 teaspoon popcorn salt to cut the overpowering sweetness of the powdered sugar and add glycerine to make it more pliable.

millermom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
millermom Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 4:21pm
post #3 of 11

I recently made some MMF using the strawberry marshmallows that were on sale during Valentine's, and it was delicious! icon_biggrin.gif Of course, then you are limited to pink/red, but it is worth it!

mcalhoun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcalhoun Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 4:26pm
post #4 of 11

I was at the Austin Cake show a couple of years ago and one of the ladies Ruth (sorry I don't know her last name) said to knead a little buttercream into your fondant and it will make the flavor better and it easier to work w/.

MichelleM77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MichelleM77 Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 5:40pm
post #5 of 11

I use Satin Ice and really like the flavor. I've tried making my own with Michele Foster's Fondant recipe and it is delicious!

Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 10:03pm
post #6 of 11