I Want To Learn All About American Style Decorating Cakes

Decorating By mari_na79 Updated 2 Apr 2009 , 4:17pm by zuckerblumen

mari_na79 Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 2:57pm
post #1 of 5

hello!
my name is Marina and I'm from Germany. So sorry, my english isn't that good. icon_smile.gif
I found this site yesterday and I am totally speechless. This cakes here are absolutely amazing. I work as a pastry cook in Germany so cakes are my job and my life. And my hobby! icon_smile.gif
But cakes like I saw here I never saw before. In Germany cakes are very simple, old-fashioned, and for me also boring.
We don't use all these colours. No blue, no black ( and I fell in love with black and white cakes yesterday), no green (only for leaves).
But all these coulours you are using, so bright and these crazy combinations icon_biggrin.gif And the stripes, and dots, and pearls.
I absolutely love it, love it, love it.
I have no words.
I would like to learn everything about decorating cakes like you do. Please help me!! icon_cry.gif
Please recommand me some books or dvds. Just everything I need.
If only could I would open a shop here and sell cakes like I saw here. Right now!
But there is so much I don't even understand here or I never heared before. Like: what is MMF? what is icing? what is gumpaste? I have no idea! icon_cry.gif
So pleeeease! I need your help! I want to be able to make such beatiful cakes like you one day, too.
Thank you. While I'm waiting for your answers I keep on waching every single pic on this site! icon_smile.gif
Greetings, Marina.

4 replies
Juds2323 Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 3:17pm
post #2 of 5