How To Do Buttercream Flowers Like R. Winbeckler

Decorating By chrissypie Updated 5 Mar 2009 , 8:02pm by icer101

chrissypie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chrissypie Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 3:50pm
post #1 of 5

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone has had success re-creating buttercream flowers in the style of Roland Winbeckler I purchased his book on Buttercream flowers and it all looks so amazing. I have to admit, I have not tried these techniques, it seems difficult and overwhelming ( I am a newbie). Has anybody tried to replicate these and do you have any tips for success?

Thanks!
Christine

4 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 5:29pm
post #2 of 5

Ooohhhhh yes - I love doing work like thaticon_smile.gif It really isn't hard once you practice a bit. I never did roses like his but most of the other stuff isn't very hard. Read thru it - several times - then prop the book in front of u and go for iticon_smile.gif

2txmedics Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2txmedics Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 6:41pm
post #3 of 5

I havent seen his books on flowers, but I did just now get his books on piping figures with b/c and molding...I also was afraid and found it very hard to do roses...it takes PRACTICE...PRACTICE...the good thing is you can scrap up the b/c and start over and over.

go to you tube and type in how to make butter cream roses...you can see it first hand. Im a visual person. it helped me alot.

good luck.

chrissypie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chrissypie Posted 28 Feb 2009 , 4:16am
post #4 of 5

Thank you! I know, I really need to practice more often! I don't really get the opportunity to do cakes other than for my kids.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 8:02pm
post #5 of 5