Help And Suggestions Please!

Decorating By ChelleK73 Updated 26 Feb 2009 , 2:21am by ChelleK73

ChelleK73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChelleK73 Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 2:35pm
post #1 of 9

Let me begin by saying how addicted I am to this site! I have spent months and hours on these forums and feel like I know a lot of you already. You are a fantastic group of people! icon_biggrin.gif

I am new at cake decorating and have only been doing it for a few months. I'm teaching myself and having a blast!

My niece's birthday is in a few weeks and I've been planning her cake for awhile now. What I want to do is bake a cake in my 11x16 pan. Then I want to cut it into a number 2. Here are my questions...

I want to make a strawberry cake or try the WASC cake (never had it) with a strawberry cheesecake filling. Do I use the full WASC recipe for the size pan I'm going to use?

Anytime I've ever tried to ice a cut cake I have major crumb issues on the cut part. If I first freeze it and then put on a crumb coat will it be ok? Will the cheesecake filling freeze ok? Do I let it thaw uncovered on the counter and then decorate it? Between the filling and thawing it out I'm afraid of weeping...the cake not me LOL! I have no idea what to do! icon_sad.gif

Good grief who would have thought trying to decide on and create the perfect cake could be so stressful.

Sorry for such a long post and such silly questions!
icon_biggrin.gif

8 replies
lapazlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lapazlady Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 2:41pm
post #2 of 9

I can't help with the quantity of batter you'll need. You will find it easier to carve a frozen cake, it makes a neater cut. And, then apply the crumb coat, allow the cake to crust over before you apply your fondant or icing. You'll get a pretty, clean cake. HTH

ChelleK73 Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 2:51pm
post #3 of 9

Thanks for your reply!