How In The World???

Decorating By Iloveweddings Updated 26 Feb 2009 , 12:04am by -K8memphis

Iloveweddings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Iloveweddings Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 5:19am
post #1 of 11

Hi everyone. How in the world do you get all these heavy royal icing roses to stay on this cake???? Thanks in advance. icon_smile.gif
LL

10 replies
jadak Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jadak Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 3:09pm
post #2 of 11

Are you sure they're royal? They look more like gumpaste to me, although I am far from an expert. icon_smile.gif I

f they're gumpaste, they might be on wires, or (whether they're gumpaste or royal) they might just be "glued" on with royal icing...which makes the vines and leaves. That stuff can really secure decorations to cakes!

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 3:15pm
post #3 of 11

The top ones are probably secured to a styrofoam half ball.... then the cascade is not as heavy as you'd think...and actually, royal icing flowers are lighter weight than gumpaste, I personally think....

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 3:15pm
post #4 of 11

The only roses I see are sitting on the ledge safe & secure.

See the green lily on the left that is sticking into the 2nd tier from the bottom? See how it's kinda at an angle so it looks like it's weight is distributed properly to hold it into the side of the cake. Plus each flower that goes up the side is resting a bit on the flowers that are sitting beneath it too and all supported by the ones on the ledge too.

It's a butterceam cake so the icing helps hold them on too.

JenWhitlock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenWhitlock Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 3:17pm
post #5 of 11

I think that they are RI flowers, and I would guess that they might have toothpicks or wires to help hold them on the sides.