Luster Dust

Decorating By cserwa Updated 25 Feb 2009 , 2:03am by cserwa

cserwa Posted 24 Feb 2009 , 4:55pm
post #1 of 10

How difficult is it to use? I'd like to "paint" the pages of a book cake in order to make it look older and draw out the lines of the pages, but I've never used it before. Do I mix it with anything? Is there a good brand or technique? Anyone have a good tutorial? TIA!!!

9 replies
pipe-dreams Posted 24 Feb 2009 , 5:02pm
post #2 of 10

I am using some for the first time this week, so i am interested to know as well. I have seen people say mix it with everclear or vodka so it doesn't clump.

vickymacd Posted 24 Feb 2009 , 5:06pm
post #3 of 10

I'm trying some as well tonight. I have to have silver color. If I weren't so lazy, I'd get out my spraygun.

The trick too is, if you need a color such as silver, start with a grey fondant. Makes it easier.

As far as using vodka, just don't water it down too much. I tried this before and no matter how many coats I put on the fondant, it was still watery looking.

confectioneista Posted 24 Feb 2009 , 5:10pm
post #4 of 10

Use clear alcohol like vodka or gin or you can use pure lemon extract (which is mostly alcohol). The alcohol dries fast and doesn't leave a "watermark".

brincess_b Posted 24 Feb 2009 , 7:28pm
post #5 of 10

you can also brush it on dry, but it gives it a different look, so you might want to experiment, and see which look suits your project.
xx

cserwa Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 1:31am
post #6 of 10

But do you just paint it on with a small painter's brush? Is it okay to pain on buttercream? I don't know if I just can't picture this correctly or what, but it seems like it would smear everything...

confectioneista Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 1:37am
post #7 of 10