Bargain Cake Price?

Business By BlondiezBakery Updated 24 Feb 2009 , 1:12am by doughdough

BlondiezBakery Posted 19 Feb 2009 , 10:03pm
post #1 of 31

Sorry to ask yet another question about pricing, but this is a different situation.

I am a hobby baker, and I am doing my first wedding cake for my hair dresser in April. She is really cutting costs, so that is why she is going with me....not to mention, I have my first big break to do something for a wedding.

She wants:
- 150 servings
- Topsy Turvy
- Funky black/white designs
- going to have to be all fondant

I am trying to give her a 'killer deal', but also, not come out broke on the deal. Also, not overcharge her for a novice decorator

I was thinking about $300 or so for the cake..what do you guys think?

30 replies
indydebi Posted 19 Feb 2009 , 10:55pm
post #2 of 31

$2 a serving for topsy turvy fondant???

Boy, you got my Mom-Finger wagging at you on this one.

My fondant price is $4.50 x 150 = $675. I've never done a TT cake, but I certainly would add extra for all of the work involved in that.

If someone is on a budget, then they don't get to say "I want ALL the bells and whistles, but since I can't afford it, YOU will have to eat the cost." If she's on a budget, she gets to pick a cake that fits her budget. Period.

cakesdivine Posted 20 Feb 2009 , 12:17am
post #3 of 31

What Indydebi said icon_smile.gif

Deb_ Posted 20 Feb 2009 , 12:48am
post #4 of 31

I would NOT recommend a topsy-turvy to be your first Wedding cake, especially covered in fondant and for a paying customer. That's probably one of the hardest cakes to master correctly with the center of gravity being so difficult to achieve. I've been baking for over 25 yrs, I've made 4 of these and the fourth still wasn't perfect and I wasn't happy with it at all. In my opinion, it's very hard to get it right. I still won't sell them.

Like the others said if she's on a budget, she should order a simple round stacked cake.