Buttercream Or Fondant? Please Help!!

Decorating By auntbeesbaking Updated 17 Feb 2009 , 10:08pm by kakeladi

auntbeesbaking Posted 17 Feb 2009 , 2:17pm
post #1 of 4

I would be grateful for any advise, please.

I have a cake due Sun. for our pastor's family as their 9th (!) child is being baptized. His wife saw 9 x 13" display cake in the shape of a baptismal gown and would like that. I've spent 2 days looking and looking on the internet (this site first!) for ideas since I've never done this before. I've had wonderful tips from several people.

I need the cake to serve 100 people so I am assuming at least 2 cakes. The gown would be from a half sheet (2-layer) and the second I was thinking would either need to be a full sheet (1 layer or 2?) or else a half-sheet cake (2-layer); I'm not quite sure about that yet.

The other thing is, I don't know if I should just do it all in buttercream or try and do fondant. I've never done fondant on a cake, just on cookies. If I do do it all in buttercream, I don't know how to get it silky smooth, especially over the folds (ventricles of icing made with a #12 tip or coupler without a tip, I've learned).

If I do do fondant, I don't know how to make the fondant do the folds for the sleeves and on the gown part and how you execute that.

So many of you do such beautiful fondant cakes and I long to do the same. The problem is, I do NOT have an artistic bone in my body! I'm NOT kidding! Although I can color a mean coloring book page! icon_redface.gif