Castle Cake-Many Questions

Decorating By islandgirl72 Updated 2 Mar 2009 , 5:26am by islandgirl72

islandgirl72 Posted 17 Feb 2009 , 12:56am
post #1 of 15

I am very new to all of this and have a lot of questions that I am hoping some of you can help me with. I am in awe of all the beautiful cakes I have seen here.

My daughter has requested a castle cake for her 4th birthday and I have looked at many, many pictures and have a good idea of what I would like to make, but have some questions...

1. This will be my first stacked cake (2 tiers). She wants chocolate cake.
  Would the chocolate version of the WASC cake be ok for this?
  Also, I live on a little island and have no access to cake supplies so I am wondering if there is something I can put between the tiers that I have access to (like cereal box board or the cardboard a frozen pizza comes on)? I am planning on putting dowels in for extra support.
  Should I cut the cakes to the size I want before or after I freeze them? I only have a couple sizes of pans and so I am going to have to cut them to the dimensions that I need.

2. My plan is to cover the towers and the two tiers with MMF (I just made this for the first time as a practice and liked it).
  Can I color the MMF after I melt the marshmallows to make it easier to mix in or is it better to color it once it is made?
  Can I make the towers (towel rolls and ice cream cones covered in MMF) ahead of time? I thought this might save time, but dont want them to fall apart either.
  Also, if I crumb coat the cake in a BC made without egg how far in advance can I assemble the cake? I am hoping to do that the day before at least so that I will have plenty of time to do all the decorating.

Any other tips or advice would be greatly appreciated as well icon_smile.gif

14 replies
CakeMommy3 Posted 17 Feb 2009 , 3:52pm
post #2 of 15

That's a lot of questions lol!
I just made a huge castle cake for my daughter's 4th b-day.