Just Starting Out...need Tips Please

Decorating By LisaD923 Updated 17 Feb 2009 , 11:14pm by aprilcake

LisaD923 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaD923 Posted 16 Feb 2009 , 6:22pm
post #1 of 5

HI All,
I'm still getting started in the whole Cake "business". Mainly just making for family and friends at minimal cost. But many people think I should take it to the next level. My questions before going further...

1. This is probably really stupid...but do most bakeries make their cakes (wedding/party) out of doctored box mixes like WASC or are they from scratch? I love scratch cakes, but not sure if it's the way to go...

2. What are some basic cake flavors every baker should have under her/his belt?

3. Filling flavors?

4. What kind of fondant do the "pro's" use? Do they make their own, use a mix? Can MMF be used professionally? (i've not attempted this yet! I'm a butter cream fan!)

5. Any other tips/ideas for getting started?

Thanks everyone!

4 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 17 Feb 2009 , 10:44pm
post #2 of 5

Well what a shame on us that no one had any ideas for you. Actually I looked at this post this a.m. and couldn't think of much but here are a few suggestions:

........do most bakeries make their cakes (wedding/party) out of doctored box mixes like WASC or are they from scratch? I love scratch cakes, but not sure if it's the way to go.......
It's really up to you. Can you keep up w/the ingredients needed for a business baking from scratch? I found it much easier to use 50# bags but......the cost isn't any better than buying boxed mixes.

........ some basic cake flavors every baker should have under her/his belt? .......
Of course white (aka: vanilla);& chocolate icon_smile.gif From there you can change your white cake into strawberry, fr vanilla, WASC; butter pecan; spice w/the addition of juice, coffee creamers, puddings, or ground nuts etc.