Hating Roses

Decorating By Danielle1218 Updated 21 Feb 2009 , 8:26pm by superstar

Danielle1218 Posted 14 Feb 2009 , 5:11pm
post #1 of 18

Does anyone out there hate making roses as much as I do?? I have been decorating for 3 years and I HATE THEM. I really cringe when people ask for them on a cake. UGH!!

17 replies
bobwonderbuns Posted 14 Feb 2009 , 5:16pm
post #2 of 18

Yep, hate 'em, hate 'em, hate 'em!! icon_biggrin.gif

kkitchen Posted 14 Feb 2009 , 5:22pm
post #3 of 18

What type of roses? Buttercream or gumpaste? I like making BC roses, but I had a very hard time doing gumpaste ones. This week I spent some time in my garden looking at the way my roses grow and tried to do one looking like one out the tree. This is what I did..... I would say be very patient.....

michellesArt Posted 14 Feb 2009 , 5:41pm
post #4 of 18

holy moly!! that looks like you just plucked it out of your garden!! i'm drooling in jealousy lol

Chippi Posted 14 Feb 2009 , 5:49pm
post #5 of 18
Originally Posted by bobwonderbuns

Yep, hate 'em, hate 'em, hate 'em!! icon_biggrin.gif

That is absolutley gorgeous Trina!

londonpeach Posted 14 Feb 2009 , 5:54pm
post #6 of 18

I don't mind making them but would rather not, I'm making my friends wedding cake in April and she wants roses made from flowerpaste (not sure if thats the same as your gumpaste)

I've worked out that the cake will need about 25 full roses all burgandy (which is a horrible colour to work with, I think so anyway icon_wink.gif ) and i'll have to make a few spare just in case any get broken.

I've made the cones and will get started on the roses soon so i'm not doing them all at the last minute icon_wink.gif

indydebi Posted 14 Feb 2009 , 6:08pm
post #7 of 18

I luv them! I think they are top on the list of cadillac decorating skills. I'd much rather do a cake with BC roses than real or silk roses.