Are My Expectations Too High? Costs Of Ingredients Too Much?

Decorating By calla74 Updated 18 Feb 2009 , 2:04am by calla74

calla74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
calla74 Posted 13 Feb 2009 , 10:26pm
post #1 of 46

I do not do this professionally - I am not licensed and have a LOT to learn. But I will admit it is a secret dream of mine (well not so secret now) to maybe someday be trained and have the ability to open a bakery. I was so excited when I was asked to make a cake for my SIL's shower. I'm still learning wth fondant and have a ways to go but despite the flaws I still thought I did fair. I at least thought it would have been nicer than what they would have ordered from the local grocery bakery. But later we were talking about the cake (which I did for free because I don't feel right charging family) and my family was talking about how it was so cute and how they would think that I could charge $40 if I made that cake for someone else. I wanted to cry. Am I spending too much on supplies? Are my expectations set too high? I know there are flaws - I had a terrible time with the fondant wrinkling at the base and I know I messed up the sizing on the cake tiers. Taking all the flaws into account is this really only a $40 cake? It was a 6" and 8". I know its not a $100 cake or anything but $40? Thanks for your advice.
LL

45 replies
scrapperjade Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scrapperjade Posted 13 Feb 2009 , 10:30pm
post #2 of 46

If your family thinks that you should be selling THAT cake for $40 (or getting a cake like that for $40 anywhere else), they are living in a dream world!

Your cake is beautiful! The fondant is smooth & perfect, and that little buggy & baby are ADORABLE!!!!

ALthough, I honestly don't think they meant it in a hurtful way, I think they were trying to compliment you and give you a boost. They obviously loved it, but they just don't realize how much $$ and time it takes to make something like this icon_smile.gif.