Chocolate Buttercream Help!

Baking By dmq1298 Updated 18 Feb 2009 , 4:05am by miachas_mom

dmq1298 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dmq1298 Posted 12 Feb 2009 , 5:56pm
post #1 of 13

So I have a great recipe for chocolate buttercream, it tastes wonderful...but... once I am done icing the cake it looks almost like it is marbled. There are dark and light streaks in the icing. Anyone know why? What can I do to keep it from doing that? Thanks Donna

12 replies
malishka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
malishka Posted 12 Feb 2009 , 6:07pm
post #2 of 13

Donna, care to share your recipe? Is it a crusting buttercream recipe? I have a cake due next week covered with chocolate buttercream and I've never done that before.

Maybe you're not mixing it enough. I mean if there are streaks in it that means that you would have to mix the buttercream for at least 5 or 10 more minutes on a medium speed.

mcalhoun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcalhoun Posted 12 Feb 2009 , 6:17pm
post #3 of 13

Donna,
If you find a secret be sure and tell! I love the taste of my chocolate bc but sometimes I see streaks as well.

Malishka,
All I do is make reg butter cream and add some cocoa powder then melt some chcoclate and drizzle it into the mixer. It tastes great! But sometimes I do get the shading.

whisperingmadcow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
whisperingmadcow Posted 12 Feb 2009 , 6:27pm
post #4 of 13

How do you mix it? Are you using a KA? Melted Chocolate or cocoa powder?

malishka Posted 12 Feb 2009 , 6:31pm
post #5 of 13

mcalhoun,
Does that buttercream crust? The reason why I am asking is that if you put some melted chocloate in it, does that change the crusting factor?

Donna, I am so sorry, I really don't mean to sabotage your post.
Do you put melted chocolate into your BC as well? Maybe that's the problem. Maybe it doesn't melt enough to be incorporated completely into the buttercream.

I hope somebody on here can give us a hint.