Please Help Me Understand

Decorating By BitsnBites Updated 11 Feb 2009 , 4:11am by BCJean

BitsnBites Posted 10 Feb 2009 , 9:19pm
post #1 of 18

I'm probably going to get hanged for asking, but I've never ever seen a carved, 3d, topsy turvy cake, etc. in person, and I have only seen 1 cake covered in fondant (gross).
So what I don't understand is using "edible" things, ie Rice crispy covered in fondant, spaghetti as skewers, etc. to decorate cakes. I imagine no one eats them. They just take them out of the cake before eating. Why go to all the trouble of making fondant figures? So why not use Styrofoam or clay or something food safe but not edible? Wouldn't it be easier?

That being said, I am in awe at what everyone here is able to do. You are all truly artists and I hope to be as good some day. But as I said, I am new to all these fondant, RK, buttercream (made with shortening) style of decorating.

17 replies
Deb_ Posted 10 Feb 2009 , 9:58pm
post #2 of 18

Sugarart......very simple. It keeps it all edible and it's a sugar masterpiece. Sure, it may be easier to sculpt an object out of styro-foam, but not everyone can successfully create figurines out of gumpaste or fondant. It's an art and sugar is the medium.

Spaghetti in cakes? That's one I've not heard of before. icon_confused.gif

rockysmommy Posted 10 Feb 2009 , 10:06pm
post #3 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkelly27

Sugarart......very simple. It keeps it all edible and it's a sugar masterpiece. Sure, it may be easier to sculpt an object out of styro-foam, but not everyone can successfully create figurines out of gumpaste or fondant. It's an art and sugar is the medium.

Spaghetti in cakes? That's one I've not heard of before. icon_confused.gif

Spaghetti???? Wouldn't that go limp from the moisture of the cake if inserted? That is new to me too... icon_rolleyes.gif

tonicake Posted 10 Feb 2009 , 10:11pm
post #4 of 18