Cookie Thickness

Baking By Acdogs Updated 12 Feb 2009 , 11:25pm by TracyLH

Acdogs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Acdogs Posted 10 Feb 2009 , 7:09pm
post #1 of 27

What is the best thickness to do NFSC? I am very new at this this will be first try to do cookies that will go out of the house!! My kids want to give them to friends for Vday.

26 replies
TracyLH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TracyLH Posted 10 Feb 2009 , 9:19pm
post #2 of 27

I personally like to do 3/8" thick, but I know a lot of people do 1/4". If you are really new to cookie-ing, Antonia74 has a great tutorial here on CC called "How to Bake and Decorate Cookies". Have fun! icon_biggrin.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 10 Feb 2009 , 9:26pm
post #3 of 27

I roll them the thickness of a wooden spoon handle. I lay two wooden spoons on the counter and roll the dough between them (rolling pin will roll on top of the wooden spoon handles and you'll have a perfectly even cookie every time.)

DsLady614 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DsLady614 Posted 10 Feb 2009 , 10:30pm
post #4 of 27

I do 1/4"... I bought a length of square metal stock that is 1/4" thick, then cut it in half. Like Indydebi, I put one piece of each side so that the rolling pin rests on it and then roll the dough in between. Works great!

bakinccc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakinccc Posted 10 Feb 2009 , 10:47pm
post #5 of 27

I roll mine really thick at 1/2". It makes putting the sticks in super easy!

Malakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Malakin Posted 10 Feb 2009 , 10:54pm
post #6 of 27

I roll mine just a little over a 1/4 inch. Any less and I always seem to burn them.

CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 11 Feb 2009 , 12:46am
post #7 of 27