How Do I Make A Fondant Bead Border?

Decorating By dbledet Updated 9 Feb 2009 , 3:29pm by dbledet

dbledet Posted 9 Feb 2009 , 2:05am
post #1 of 8

I would like to make a fondant bead border around a cake. I'm new to fondant and not sure how to do this. Any suggestions would be really helpful.
I have read that alot of people use 50/50 mix of fondant and gum paste. Should I do this for all fondant accents on a crusted buttercream cake?
How do I attach the beaded balls to the cake?
Can this be done a day in advance or should it be done the same day the cake is needed?

Thanks for all your help!!! icon_eek.gif

7 replies
prterrell Posted 9 Feb 2009 , 2:32am
post #2 of 8

Remember playing with Play-doh? icon_razz.gif

Fondant is easy!

You only need to mix with gumpaste if you are wanting it to dry rock-hard (and quickly). I would leave it out for a border and anything that you want to be soft enough to be eaten without the risk of broken teeth. icon_biggrin.gif

For a fondant bead border, all you have to do is roll little balls of the fondant with your hands and place them at the bottom of the cake. If you want, you can pipe a thin line (say with a #4 tip) around the bottom of the cake on the cake board, so that the border is "attached" in 2 places. You can make the beads any size you like.

Have fun playing with the dough! icon_smile.gif

panchanewjersey Posted 9 Feb 2009 , 2:41am
post #3 of 8

They also sell the bead border makers, they should have them here on Global Sugar Art if your looking for a perfect uniform border. They sell them in different sizes and tonedna shows you how to use it.

korensmommy Posted 9 Feb 2009 , 2:44am
post #4 of 8

I'm no fondant expert, but I make all my fondant pieces in advance.
I have 2 kids and do it at night when I can get some peace and quiet!
You could also make them same day if you wanted.