1St Time With Fondant -- How Long Will It Last In The Fridge

Decorating By alliekat75 Updated 31 Jan 2014 , 1:07am by sandy e

alliekat75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alliekat75 Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 6:10pm
post #1 of 11

Hi ladies,
This is my first time using fondant. I've rolled it & used the circle cutters to cut out cute polka dots. I'm practicing for my daughter's first birthday cake in March.

How long will it in an airtight container in the fridge? Also, how do I get the cornstarch off? How do I "glue" it onto the cake?

Sorry for all of the questions. Thanks for your help. You are all so helpful.

Allison

10 replies
ladybug76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladybug76 Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 6:19pm
post #2 of 11

You want to be careful with putting fondant in the frig. The humidity will cause the fondant to sweat. Since fondant is sugar, it will in return begin to melt - not a good thing!! Your fondant should be OK in an air tight container, maybe even placing a piece of saran wrap over, at room temperature.
Also, to adhere fondant to BC or fondant, just lightly tab water or vanilla extract to the back of the piece to act as a 'glue.' I always use water and it works like a charm!!
I'm sure there are tons of forums talking about fondant here on CC.
Best wishes... and let me know if you have any other questions!!
~ Jaime

Fairytale Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Fairytale Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 6:20pm
post #3 of 11

Don't put it in the fridge. Fondant doesn't like moisture. All you need to do is keep it in an air tight container. I will last for at least 6 months, or until it gets hard. To glue fondant to fondant, all you need is water. If your trying to get fondant to stick to BC, cut dab it with a little BC. Good luck

tarheelgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tarheelgirl Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 6:25pm
post #4 of 11

I make MMF in batches. I completely wrap in saran wrap and then put in a big freezer type baggie. It stays for weeks in the fridge.