How To Tactfully Say No?

Business By thelittlecakehouse Updated 10 Feb 2009 , 2:41am by thelittlecakehouse

thelittlecakehouse Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 1:37pm
post #1 of 10

I've been making cakes for a couple of years. They are small party size cakes. Word of mouth has brought me more business in the last couple months and I have a request to make a 2-3 tier cake to serve 200.

I dont have pans or an oven big enough to make just a 2 or 3 tier cake to feed that many. The biggest pan I can bake is a 12 in round.

How do I say no without seeming to be so incompetent??

9 replies
-K8memphis Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 1:54pm
post #2 of 10

"Sorry I'm not licensed to bake for the public."

"I'm not taking wedding cake orders at the present time."

"I only bake for fun."

"I'm allergic to weddings, I break out in panic." icon_biggrin.gif

"I'll leave that to the professionals, baking is a hobby for me."

Maybe something like that would spark an idea for you.

brincess_b Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 2:04pm
post #3 of 10

if you could, do you want to do the cake? you could say you dont have the pans for a 2-3 teir cake, but could work out a design with more tiers for them. or that youd have to increase prices to cover buying new pans!
or else the other quotes are really easy get outs!
xx

kelleym Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 3:14pm
post #4 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparklediva

I've been making cakes for a couple of years. They are small party size cakes. Word of mouth has brought me more business in the last couple months and I have a request to make a 2-3 tier cake to serve 200.

I dont have pans or an oven big enough to make just a 2 or 3 tier cake to feed that many. The biggest pan I can bake is a 12 in round.

How do I say no without seeming to be so incompetent??