No Support For A Tiered Cake??

Decorating By tarheelgirl Updated 12 Feb 2009 , 9:16pm by aswartzw

tarheelgirl Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 12:49pm
post #1 of 25

I met with a bride yesterday and she asked if I used wooden dowels inside of my cakes. I said actually I will be using a plate and pillar system inside your cake. She told me that she had previously met with someone the day before that told her they use NOTHING inside of their cakes. I was in total shock! Reading the horror stories on here about wooden dowels but this decorator uses NOTHING???? icon_eek.gif Why do all that hard work only for it to collapse and the bride has no cake!

24 replies
leah_s Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 1:03pm
post #2 of 25

If the other person hasn't had a disaster yet - well yet is the important word there. I would have laughed and said, "Amateur! I'm a professional and I know better."

I have had brides specifically ask if I use dowels in a cake and I do laugh ans say 'No, that's the #1 reason cakes fall. I use a much better system" and leave the convo there.

-K8memphis Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 1:26pm
post #3 of 25

I agree that an amateur's improper use of dowel could be a major factor in why cakes fall.

KitchenKat Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 1:51pm
post #4 of 25

Wow! NOTHING! Perhaps its not a stacked cake but graduated layers on tiered stands or pillars. I've never heard of a professional not using support inside stacked cakes...except perhaps for Sandra Lee. Didn't she have an episode where she stacked cakes and didn't dowel? I think it was the towering holiday cake with licorice strings. Maybe SL is the other baker. Just kidding now!

BlakesCakes Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 10:54pm
post #5 of 25

I guess there are some "old school" decorators out there who don't dowel/support some types of cakes--I guess they think their cakes are dense enough to withstand so much stress icon_confused.gif