Has Anyone Made A Skateboard From Gumpaste?

Decorating By dxerebl Updated 14 Feb 2009 , 6:02pm by dxerebl

dxerebl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dxerebl Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 11:14pm
post #1 of 10

I'm making cupcakes for a little boy who loves skateboarding. I'd like to make some small enough to fit on top.... any suggestions?

Lets remember, I'm VERY new....and have never made gumpaste before. The only local stores are Michaels and AC Moore and they only carry Gum-tex (or the pre-made, but I'd like to try and make it myself for the experience) - no tylose or gum tragacanth.

I'd love to see some pics as well so I can hopefully have a guide.

Thanks in advance!! icon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
deetmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deetmar Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 11:28pm
post #2 of 10

When I need to do something like this, that I have never done before, I find a picture on the web, print it off, enlarge it or make it smaller, laminate it, cut it out, and use it as a template.

I recently made a "cars" Lightning McQueen and Thomas the Train this way. I actually cut each little piece out then put it back together like a puzzle. With one skateboard, it should go fast.

margaretb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
margaretb Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 11:52pm
post #3 of 10

I made some snowboards out of fondant:

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1296051