Marshamallow Fondant Problems

Decorating By gincake12 Updated 8 Feb 2009 , 8:11pm by swede

gincake12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gincake12 Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 2:54pm
post #1 of 21

Hi Everyone!
This is my first time making marshmallow Fondant. I am wondering if it is too dry or too wet.

I kneaded it for about 20 minutes and it still crumbles, though it doesn't feel dry. It is still a little sticky so I add a bit more powder sugar. Do I need to continue to Knead it (please say no!) or what? Perhaps I need to add more Marshmallow.
Thanks so much!

20 replies
stlcakelady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stlcakelady Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 3:08pm
post #2 of 21

It shouldn't crumble. It should be pliable, not wet or sticky. You may need to add a tbsp. of water and perhaps some shortening. I used to use mmf but recently switched to Michele Foster's fondant recipe in the recipe section. It's really easy to make and is very user friendly. Gives your cake a beautiful finish. I purchase glycerine from the pharmacy, although you can get small bottles from Michael's. Hope this helps.

luv2cook721 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2cook721 Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 3:08pm
post #3 of 21

I had the same problems and was advised to add just a bit of glycerin and it really helped improve the pliability. Which recipe did you use? I have not tried the Rhonda's ultimate MMF recipe yet, but have seen lots of great comments about it here on this site. Good luck.

luv2cook721 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2cook721 Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 3:10pm
post #4 of 21

I meant to add that you should knead (sorry) the glycerin in a few drops at a time. More water doesn't really help, trust me, I kept adding water, but the fondant still had fissures in it when I covered the cakes. The glycerin really helps, if you don't have any try shortening or perhaps some corn syrup.

sweetjan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetjan Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 3:14pm
post #5 of 21