To Stack Or Not To Stack.... Help

Decorating By sarand Updated 8 Feb 2009 , 4:07pm by sarand

sarand Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarand Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 8:05am
post #1 of 10

Mmmm... I am still new at all this cake decorating and have only been making cakes for family and close friends. Obviously showing my cakes to the people I work with...

I have now been asked if I will do a 3 tier wedding cake for one of the girls at work, not too bad as I dont have to make the cakes as her gran has made them...

They are 12' 10' and 8' fruit cakes... Ohh err this is the biggest cake I have ever done. I have no problem decorating them but I am worried about stacking them as i have NEVER done this before...

Can you stack fruit cakes on top of each other or are they too heavy? I think that looking on this website and internet I can use the wooden dowels and a plate underneath the cake, but I am seriously worried they will be too heavy and fall off....

I am after any advice you can offer as I am quite nervous about this.

Thanks for reading... helping... I have tried to add a picture of the cake she wants me to do.

Sarah x

PS: I did think about asking to use dummy cakes on the top?? but not sure if she will go for this...
LL

9 replies
bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 8:18am
post #2 of 10

Many people here will tell you don't use wooden dowels. They can give under too much weight, or shift, and make cake taste bad.

Many use bubble tea straws, which are really big, made to suck up a tapioca ball.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/zelciia/259810296/

Many swear by SPS which is a system of plates that actually lock into plastic supports

http://www.globalsugarart.com/cat.php?cid=887

I wouldn't take the risk of using wooden dowels on such a heavy cake.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 3:19pm
post #3 of 10