Help In Engineering & Dowel.. When? How? Why? Where?

Decorating By Bakki Updated 8 Mar 2009 , 2:10am by Bakki

Bakki Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 4:44am
post #1 of 10

Calling ALL Cake Wizards out there! Im just a NEWbie in the whole cake creating experience & I need answers! FAST!!
icon_eek.gificon_confused.gif
I need to learn all I can in a small amount of time as Im taking on a HUGE project & have but 4 weeks to prepare!

When 2use....How 2use....Why you use....Where 2use....DOWEL!!?

Im planning on making THIS for my sons Birthday in exactly 4 weeks time. Any tips would be VERY HELPFUL!

Im thinking I will create the main building out of 3 stacked choc cakes of varying sizes having a layer of frosting in middle of the two lower cake [the top cake will be too thin to slice in half] Covering each one in a pale orange fondant. The two buildings behind will be rice cakes Or Styrafoam? Ala mock cakes covered in the same fondant. The trimmings I will pre-make in gum-paste and leave to dry & stiffen & then to be glued on with CMC & water /paste.
- [I cant PIPE to save myself!? {not yet?!} icon_wink.gif]

I want to learn how to use a spray gun effect...So I can get a rendered finish in a darker orange. {I will post up a new topic for that one methinx!! LOL}
Yes I want to throw myself in the deep end & I think I can JUST pull this off! I just need basic swimming guidance! Haha icon_wink.gif

But I DO NEED to know the BASIC engineering of stacking 3 cakes. WHY do you use dowel & HOW do you use dowel & What exactly needs support? Where d you place it? How many pieces & Where do you buy it!? Does it go through the whole 3 cakes or just strengthen the supporting cakes?

And if anyone has any tips on the engineering of this cake project I WOULD BE VERY GLAD to hear ANYTHING that MAY HELP in my quest & Eternally grateful!!!!!!!!!! Im starting to softly panic but not at the tear-out-hair stage yet! LOL
Hahaha!